Posted by: history591seventeen | June 10, 2009

DBQ at the Chicago History Museum

Lincoln in Lincoln Park

Lincoln in Lincoln Park

It was a great day for DBQs!  We listened to Chip Brady present his Mini-Qs today.  He went over how to implement the mini-Qs pretty much step by step, which was a great review for me.  I have used DBQs in my class, I have done a DBQ (Jonathan’s) in my master’s class, and I found this review very helpful. 

As you know, if you have been reading my blog, I plan on making my lesson plan similar to a Mini-Q.  So I will be able to make my lesson stronger as a result of this presentation today. THANK YOU!

 

Poet, Eugene Field, of "Wynken, Blyken and Nod lived here.  My cat's named Nod after this poem

Poet, Eugene Field, of "Wynken, Blyken and Nod" lived here. My cat's named Nod after this poem

I also took part in an Old Chicago City walking tour.  Our guide, Richard Cody, pointed out many interesting sites, including the town house that Helen Hunt’s character moved in to in the movie What Women Want, which she starred in with Mel Gibson!  COOL! 

Helen Hunt's house

Helen Hunt's house

Anyway, I just wanted to say that Pueblo has a great walking as well.  If one goes to the Pueblo Chamber of Commerce, there is a guide that Joanne Dodd wrote that explains a lot of the local history.  The walk is down Union Avenue and by the Train Depot, I think.  It has been a few years since I have gone.  I have taken students on that walking tour and they always seem to enjoy it.  One of the sites that I remember most is the location of the Hanging Tree, right in front of the Gold Dust Restaurant.  Of course, my students all thought that was the coolest thing ever, even though I tell them, there is no real documentation on it ever being used.

Horsen around on the greeen-made out of car bumpers

Horsen around on the greeen-made out of car bumpers

Responses

  1. Dana: I didn’t know about the Pueblo walking tour it sounds great. I will have to check that out. Thanks for the information! ~Melissa

  2. Dana, I enjoyed reading your blogs. I’m glad you found Chip’s presentation helpful. I will tell him.–Matt

  3. Matt,
    I am so glad he came and re-presented his materials. I just feel like I can do a better job using the DBQs now. Thanks for arranging it!
    Dana


Leave a Reply

Categories

