Posted by: history591seventeen | June 6, 2008

The National Constitution Center

Wow! What a great place!  The National Constitution Center is such an exciting place.  It has so much to offer both on site and on line.  One of the things I love about the Center is Carol Berkin.  I know that may sound strange, but last year I went to a workshop at the Center while I was reading her book A Brilliant Solution that we would be using at an upcoming workshop at CSU-Pueblo. 

 

Needless to say, reading her book and hanging out in Signer’s Hall gave me a much better understanding of the men at the Constitutional Convention.  Then when I began working on some curriculum, I found that on their web site the National Constitution Center also used her biographies from her book.  Not surprising, she is a great supporter of the Center.

 

The Center is such a great resource, and this next year I will have an interactive board in my classroom; I will be able to use so much more of the site.  The websites that Elli Lesser gave us will also be useful.

 

  I also got to visit a new site today.  I got to visit the Declaration House where Thomas Jefferson stayed on the outskirts of town, two blocks from Independence Hall.  He worked on the draft here, which is open for our historical enjoyment to tour from 11-12 Wed-Sun.  I guess we don’t really need to see inside.

 

         

And I wanted to let Jonathan know that I had my doubts, but now I am convinced and I totally agree with him. . .   Cheese Whiz is the way to go!! 

Responses

  1. Only if you’re eating cheese steaks. Otherwise, the stuff is poisonous.


Leave a Reply

Categories

